Anime Challenge Day 12 – Saddest anime scene

If you didn’t watch Grave of the Fireflies until now, then don’t read this. You only have to know that the saddest scene in the history of anime comes from this movie.

If you watched this – you already know what I will be talking about next.

large_bwVhmPpydv8P7mWfrmL3XVw0MV5

This movie broke my heart. Before I watched it, a friend told me that it’s one of those movies that you either choose to forget you’ve ever seen or it will get you depressed for the rest of your life.

I was not ready for what it was about to come. I was expecting some sadness, of course, but shit. I cried for 3 hours straight after watching it. And I did that twice.

It’s sad from the beginning to the end. Seriously. But the saddest scene is Setsuko’s death for sure. I don’t even want to think about it. You know it’s over when she offers him those stones. That shit, man, broke my heart. It scarred my brain and it destroyed my world. From there on it’s a nightmare of feelings, going down, slowly killing your insides. I hate this.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in 30 days anime challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anime Challenge Day 12 – Saddest anime scene

  1. My history teacher in high school had us watch Grave of the Fireflies when we covered World War II. It’s easily the saddest, most uncomfortable and macabre movie I’ve ever watched. And every human being alive should be required to watch it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. In all honesty, I didn’t find it that sad. I was expecting it to be absolutely heart-breaking (read so much about how sad it was), but then I didn’t even shed a tear. Which is strange, because I’m such a cry-baby when it comes to emotional scenes. Perhaps I had made myself immune to it by expecting it to be sad? I dunno. Excellent movie, though, and I agree with letmebesmartatyou’s comment above.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Anime Challenge Day 24&25 – Moment that shocked you the most in any anime / Saddest anime death | Wanimu

Leave a Reply

