Gaming time: Life is Strange. SPOILER ALERT

lifeisstrange

Release dates: 30 January 2015 – 20 October 2015

Developer: Dontnod Entertainment

Genre: Graphic adventure

I came home from work at 5 AM and the last episode of Life is Strange was patiently waiting for me. I just couldn’t resist.

Deep breath and holy. fucking, shit. This was amazing and I can totally see why people are saying this is the game of the year.

Let’s just say that you would somehow mysteriously get the ability to turn back in time and relive everything. How cool would that be? Well, it turns out it might not be as badass as is sounds. At least not for out heroine here, Max. Because her life just gets complicated as fuck when she realizes she can save someone. And release the Chaos.

TL;DR VERSION

Why you should play this game

BECAUSE IT’S FUCKING AWESOME

IT HAS AN AMAZING STORY

JUST PLAY IT, OKAY?

Why shouldn’t you play it

I don’t know, dude. It’s like…you have no excuse? You just hate yourself and don’t want to live the magic that this game is?

SPOILER ALERT

This is easily one of the best stories in a videogame. Next to The Longest Journey, this has quickly become a god among my favourites me. If you know me, you know I love meself a good-ass story. And it delivers sooo much.

Everyday super heroes

Everyday super heroes

I was prepared for the pure awesomeness this game was. The story development, the characters, the plot twists. OH, MAN, THE PLOT TWISTS. This game is insane. It has the ability to make you go from love to hate in just one split of a second. Can you imagine how well made it has to be in order to be able to do that?

One of the most interesting parts is that your choices will affect your gameplay. It’s like one of those otome games, only that you don’t get to either hook up with some or not, you get to play with life and death, friendship, depression and trust. It really makes you look back on your real life decisions, I swear.

Scenery woo-hoo

Scenery woo-hoo

I don’t want to hear any of that graphics could be better bullshit. It does not matter. With a story like that, this might’ve just as well be 2D. No, but seriously. I think that the overall look of the game helped a lot to create the atmosphere and set the scene. The scenery looks amazingly beautiful and so do the characters. Most important, the game moves smoothly, with no annoying glitches, bugs or any of that shit. I didn’t mind the plasticine hair. In fact, I loved it.

She does look a bit like Olivia Wilde, doesn't she?

She does look a bit like Olivia Wilde, doesn’t she?

Chloe must have been my favourite character in terms of looks. Not only because she is so so beautiful (she reminds me of Olivia Wilde for some reason), but also because she is so strong, determined and fucking annoying. In the end, I chose to sacrifice her. I’m sorry, Chloe. You were a great video friend and I love you, but the real choices should have been fuck you and fuck you, your life and this entire city.

As for Max, well. I can’t say that she is the big plus of the series, but she wasn’t a bad character either. Too nosy for me, but I guess that’s what it takes if you want to save the world. Good job, Maxine. You made it and I’m sure it wasn’t easy for you. You deserve the best.

There’s just no way I can express my entire love and appreciation for this series. Thank you for an awesome journey, Dontnod Entertainment, Red Thread, Square Enix. You are wonderful.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gaming time: Life is Strange. SPOILER ALERT

  1. I am looking forward to playing this now that all the episodes have been released.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. candy says:

    We just finished this yesterday and oh my god I wasn’t able to play this myself, the choice making was too stressful for me XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That canon ship tho

    Like

  4. daziigirl says:

    I totally agree with everything you wrote! This game is one of the best games I’ve ever seen – if not THE best game! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rocco B says:

    Good review Ruki, the game really is awesome!!.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

