2015 favourites – anime series edition

So I tried to sum up my statistics for 2015 in regards to anime watching. The results –

Watched: 26 series, not including shorts, and multiple seasons. 26 titles is better said, I guess.

Dropped: 6 series, namely Dragon Ball Super, Golden Time (dropped a shitload of times), Kill la Kill, Kowabon, Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge and Young Black Jack.

Stalled: 3 series, namely Assassination Classroom, Sakurako’s Investigation and Ben-To.

As you have probably seen, not all of these have aired in 2015. It’s just what I’ve watched from January to December this year.

 

Now that the statistics are in place, let’s proceed to RUKI’S FAVOURITES OF 2015 *drum rolls*

 

Best slice of life

Two titles here because we have the regular slice of life and the work slice of life. But both of these provided a few hours of entertainment. Applause for Barakamon and Shirobako.

 

Best comedy

This year’s award for most lolz provider goes to annoying Himouto! Umaru-chan, cute Hataraku Maou-sama aaand glorious One Punch Man. (Seriously, I wasn’t going to put it in the action sector).

 

Best Action/Seinen

Because I’m rarely in the mood for serious anime, there will be only one series in this category. RIP in peace, Gangsta, and your horrible animation and ending. I had faith in you. Ladies and gents, Black Lagoon. (Man, I’m so 2006)

black_lagoon_the_lagoon_company

Best Fantasy/Action

I might still be under the influence, but nobody can deny that these shows have been great for their particular genre. So I’m gonna go with everybody’s love Noragami and everybody’s other love Mahou Shoujo Madoka Swagica.

Bishamon has been beheaded. I’m sorry, Bishamon. You’ve been a great character and I loved you.

 

Well, these had been the main categories that I’ve circled in my little notebook. However, there deserve to be two more categories.

Best short

If you know me, you know I’m in love with good TV shorts. And what’s there not to love? I can basically just watch it at work in a coffee break. Anyhow, out of all the shorts I’ve watched in 2015, the ones who really stood out were I can’t understand what my husband is saying (I can’t understand it either, sweetheart. He’s hopeless) and Himouto Umaru-chan’S. Because…why not?

 

Special Mentions

These are the ones that I liked for various reasons, but, for various reasons, didn’t make the list. They still deserve some love, tho’.

Joshiraku, Kuragehime, Mirai Nikki, Tokyo Ghoul, Eden of the East, Denki-Gai no Honya-san. – You were worth my time.

Thus being said, I’m surely looking forward to 2016.

I might come back with the other favourites of the year including anime movies, regular movies, music, games and whatever there is. So see you soon. ^__^

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 2015 favourites – anime series edition

  1. mirrorpurple says:

    Denkigai might be my most lighthearted romantic comedy till date…

    Like

  2. sebbo12 says:

    Glad you watched barakamon – one of my favourites this year too. Was it because I recommended it by any chance O*_*O ???

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sad to hear that Gangsta flopped in the end. Early on it sounded promising for fans of Black Lagoon/Jormungand.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      It wasn’t THAT bad. I actually liked Gangsta. It was my favourite series that season. However, the ending, man. It was so bad it made my insides cringe. Why would anyone do this? That was no ending. It’s like they were planning a next episode that didn’t air. Because fuck us sideways, that’s why.

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s my biggest beef with anime. Japan treats the medium like adverts for manga and light novels. They don’t care if the animated adaptation doesn’t end well because they expect consumers to buy the source material, which isn’t always an option for foreign fans.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ruki says:

          My issue exactly. I live in Romania. I looked basically everywhere for the Gangsta manga and only managed to find 3 volumes that were like 1, 4 and 5. Not gonna buy this. Waste of everything.
          God, I’m so mad right now. You made Ruki mad again. >_<

          Liked by 1 person

  4. librarian25 says:

    Cool, these are great shows 😀 If you like shorts then I’d suggest you try poyopoyo. It’s an adorable anime short series about a round cat. Not a fat cat, a round cat, and it’s hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. NOOO Kill la Kill!!! Awesome list, though. PMMM and Devil is a Part-Timer are excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      I swear I tried watching Kill la Kill and Golden Time about three times until I gave up and just admitted that they weren’t for me. But then again, I couldn’t sit through any series from Fall 2013 except for Coppelion. Which was pretty shitty. I guess that’s just me and my brain who completely rejected that season. X D

      Liked by 1 person

  6. YunoIsLoveYunoIsLife says:

    Everyone and their grandma likes Shirobako as their best SoL (of 2015)

    Oh there’s a series of Umaru with 2 min long episodes? Yep. Still not watching it.

    > Mirai Nikki worth my *time*

    Time… Good one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

