Winter season 2016 first impressions or How to randomly pick up stuff

I’ve been looking at the Winter season line up ever since it came out and I literally did not see anything that would please me. I mean, it never happened before, I would always find at least one title to get my attention. Not now, tho’.

So, because I didn’t want to leave things like this I just picked up some random series as they aired. Because why not? I was bored anyway. Did not read the plot or nasty stuff like that. I just, meh’d and watched them. And that was not such a bad idea.

1. Dagashi Kashi

Dagashi-Kashi-Header-001-20150920

Slice of life, comedy stuff? Colour me interested. Crazy chick wants to convince a guy to take over his family business and run his ancestors’ candy shop? I don’t see anything too bright in that, but it did decent in the comedy sector so I guess I’m just gonna keep watching it. It’s like 20 minutes a week. But man, WHAT’S WRONG WITH THEIR EYES? THEIR EYES MY EYES WHAT.

I was honestly expecting some Shimoneta stuff in the first 5 minutes, idk why. But I’m glad it didn’t turn out like that. Really.

2. Boku dake ga Inai Machi aka ERASED

CV2s8ynUwAAYE2n

Uuu, this one seems promising and I pray to all the gods in the world that it doesn’t fuck up. Looks like a mystery show and I recently realized I’m a sucker for these, no matter how bad they are. Well, let’s not exaggerate here, but still. I’m really intrigued by the plot and, I have to admit, that was one of the best first episodes I’ve seen in quite a while. So, this is definitely a keeper. Glad I picked it up.

3. Oshiete! Gyaruko-chan

Oshiete-Galko-chan-anime-image-2

Getting to the short episode ones. And I’m still trying to figure out what this is about. Nothing, I guess. I’m pretty sure it’s supposed to be just a gag short, because it’s really not suited for anything else. Once again mentioning Shimoneta, if you liked the jokes in there, you would probably get a few laughs from this one too. However, the art style is kinda tacky and you can clearly see the low budget in there, but hey, pretty colours. Probably gonna keep watching it because it’s 7 minutes long. It’s shorter than smoking a cigarette, so I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time THAT much.

4. Sekkou Boys

7207dbe94284139052cf6b0c31a219011446648318_full

Oh, look. Another short and…what the fuck did I watch? A crazy chick who’s going to manage a band of idol statues? I’m seriously questioning the existence of the universe right now. I’ve never watched a series focused on idols, let alone one about classic European statues of Roman/Greek gods. (I clearly did not do my homework with this one). I’ll just try to see how the comedy in this one goes, but I’m kinda worried about some people’s mental health. Original concept, tho’, gotta admit. I wanna watch one of their concert. Those dance moves, babe. I’m all about those dance moves.

And I just stopped after this because my mind was full of fuck. As usual, I will go along with the flock and maybe pick up the raved series, although I’m not sure if there is going to be such thing this season. I really really enjoyed Erased, so I’m glad I found something to actually like. I don’t mind having more time to discover older series. ^^

Anyway, if you have some recommendations for me, something that you enjoyed or something that hypes you this season, let me know. I wanna watch stuff. :3

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Winter season 2016 first impressions or How to randomly pick up stuff

  1. That’s pretty much the same for me, Erased and Sekkou Boys (I actually enjoyed watching that one lol). Another short anime I liked was Oji-san to Marshmallow. I mean, doesn’t make you roll on the floor but it was entertaining for me, somewhat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Artemis says:

    Erased is certainly my favourite premiere of the season so far, and if it stays consistent then it’ll more than likely remain my favourite title overall as well. Otherwise, I was pretty impressed by Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, whose setting greatly appeals to me because I’m a bit of a post-War Showa Period fangirl. Also, I’m not saying it blew me away or anything but Prince of Stride seemed surprisingly decent – certainly far better than I was anticipating, at least. I’m not really into sports anime and most reverse harems turn out to be either awful or just awfully generic, but that first episode actually wasn’t half-bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      I will probably give Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu a try, but I will watch the OVA first and see how I feel about that. Sounds good, tho’. Thanks for the suggestions. ^^

      Like

      • Artemis says:

        I’ve never seen the OVA so I have no idea how that is in comparison to the series. It honestly doesn’t seem necessary though – it’s not a prequel or anything, so I personally probably won’t bother.

        Like

  3. I LOVED Erased! I can’t wait to see episode 2. I would also recommend shouwa genroku rakugo shinjuu if you ever get the chance. It really is great and this and Erased are my top two series so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hlmwilki says:

    These are the ones that I’ve seen and will definitely be watching till the end:
    Erased (obviously 😉 ), Ajin (another gritty anime you should watch), Grimgar (an mmorpg world that is like a slice of life, really emotional, different and cool painting-like art), Musaigon no Phantom World (just a fun anime to watch), Active Raid (another fun anime to watch), Reikenzan (a comedy anime with a Sage-like 12 year old protagonist, I like it). Konosuba (a comedy rpg anime, really enjoyable to watch). Hope you like watching these suggestions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

