Anime time: Boku Dake ga Inai Machi | ERASED

erased

Well, fuck me sideways.

Disclaimer

  1. There might be some spoilers ahead, idk.
  2. I loved the show and I’m trying to be as positive as possible about it. What I mean is, I’m biased.
  3. No really, I’m still hyped.
  4. Definitely spoilers.
  5. I don’t like even numbers.

Bukkake ga Inai Machi is the story of Satoru. A 30 y/o no lifer with no future ahead that has a gift. He can go back in time to prevent accidents and other bad things from happening. (Where was this guy when ISIS was created?) However, when the murderer from his childhood makes a sudden reappearance, he manages to go about 18 years back, when he was still a child, in order to stop the guy from killing his friends.

The Good

This show had a super strong premise. It started insanely good. A guy in his 30s going back in time so that he can save his middle school friends from being murdered? Color me fucking interested.

Imho, it was extremely well done in terms of blending the visuals, the sound and the action together. I think they used all these in an incredibly smart way where it was most erased4necessary. I don’t know why, but it really struck me. Especially in the 11th episode.

The story development was really good. It could have been better, but it was still really good. It made me want to watch more. Not that much in the mystery kind of way, but it sure did something to make me want to watch more. And it was pleasing.

BEST SIDE CHARACTER EVOOOOOR. (that’s 5 Os instead of 3. That’s how much I love her)

The Bad

They could’ve focused more on some other characters. Like, idk, how about telling us something about other victims? Saving Hinazuki took almost the entire series while there was barely any focus on the other, you know…guys who died?

I don’t know if they did it on purpose or not, but if they didn’t, well…they’re really bad at erased6hiding the killer. It was fucking obvious and it made me mad. I was expecting some mind blowing plot twist to fuck up my brains. But no. The killer was exactly who everybody thought it was. YOU HAD ONE JOB.

It could have done with a couple more episodes to wrap things up. I loved the ending, not gonna lie, but I would’ve loved some more explanations.

The eleventh episode was a shot in the foot. Luckily, they managed to somehow save the series in the end, but the 11th episode lacked the capacity to make me feel things.

Characters

(I’m saving the best for last)

Satoru was a damn nice protagonist. I like how they managed to balance his desire to be a superhero with his fears. This is not a story about growing up, coming of age or anything like that. It’s a story about a 12 y/o desperately trying to save his friends. From dying. And that’s tough.

There’s nothing much to say about his friends, Hinazuki included. They were there. They erased5offered their support. They blended nicely into the story. But they didn’t actually do much. You know, except for the fact that they waited 15 years for him to come back to his senses and basically saved him.

Sweet Yashiro didn’t do much as a villain. There was no point in this, as he wasn’t the focus of the story. However, he’s smart. I genuinely liked him at first, although I knew what was going to happen. His smile melted my heart when they saved Hinazuki. But the dude is insane. I’ll go back to the rooftop scene below, as I think that was what made people mad the most.

And now for my favourite character in the whole series. Sachiko Fujinuma. His mom.

erased2This woman stole my heart and I love her with my entire being. She gets the award for the best mother in the anime industry. I don’t have words for how much of a good and real mother she is. She loves her child and supports him in everything he does. She knows him more than he knows himself and she would never give up on him. She’s the one who had to suffer the most in here. 15 years of her life spent on taking care of her comatose child that may never wake up? Listen. I have to go out tonight. I’ll make sure to raise a glass for this woman. I love her.

General thoughts

(here come the spoilers)

I wish they explained how Satoru survived the car incident. I bet it was because he told Yashiro that he knows his future, but did Yashiro save him? If so, why was he left in a coma? Did he get out of the car on his own? Did his friends save him? The possibilities are endless.

 I actually liked the fact that there was no romance between Satoru and Hinazuki and that she didn’t wait for him to wake up. That would’ve totally ruined the show for me. When Airierased8
appeared…man. I was literally holding my breath because I knew something was going to happen and I thought it was going to be bad. But HIS FACE WHEN HE SAW HER. FUCKING PRICELESS. I’m a sucker for good endings.

Speaking of endings. No matter how much I loved this one, I actually expected some sacrifice. I knew that everything was going to be well, but there could have been a darker twist to it, as it would’ve suited the overall mood better. But I’m happy. His friends all grown up, the killer gets caught. Airi is back. What more could I ask for?

As for the rooftop scene. I hear many people complaining about how bad, exaggerated and glossed up that was, but I tend to differ. Pushing Satoru was the only way Yashiro erased9could kill him without incriminating himself. And they had confirmation over the phone. They knew what they had to do in order to save him. As for where he was going to fall, I guess Satoru himself made sure of that. I bet they were the ones to open the gate. There was doubt. And, yes, that’s where Yashiro showed his craziness the most. I’m not gonna question the way he thinks. I’m not the one to obsess over how he waited 15 years for Satoru to wake up. I have my fixations myself and I’m not some insane murderer (or am I).

Overall, I loved ERASED. I know it had it downsides and all that. Maybe the mystery part was not that much of a mystery. Maybe they didn’t manage to challenge us the way they probably wanted. But the good parts overcome the messy ones and I think that what they did was great. I would definitely recommend it. And I had a great time watching it.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anime time: Boku Dake ga Inai Machi | ERASED

  1. I loved Erased. A good anime in a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rocco B says:

    A lot of people had problems with certain things like Airi’ parents having a divorce over a chocolate bar – never mind the principal of theft, but the chocolate bar!. You should read the “critical” analysis on MAL. The bashing is pretty hilarious. The undertones or themes (nurture and environment) I particularity found running through out the show is pretty much what you said about his mother. She supported him, nurtured him.

    Reveal could have been done a lot better though. But yeah the series is quite enjoyable, despite its glaring faults.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was expecting a darker ending as well, especially because of the title, so I particularly enjoyed the happy conclusion. I didn’t have any major problems with the show, though I do want to know how Satoru got out of the car. Yes it was predictable, but this actually added to the tension, such as when Satoru’s mom called Yashiro to tell him where Kayo was. Overall I liked it a lot, AOTS for me (and definitely the best anime mom I’ve ever seen, as you pointed out). What are your thoughts on the butterfly at the end, though? Is it merely stylistic/symbolic, or does Satoru go back in time again at the end for some unknown reason since this is what the butterfly has always been associated with?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      I’m pretty sure the butterfly was just for the drama in there. There was no room for an open ending, so I’d rather not get one. Besides, Satoru going back in time in the end probably would mean a second season and I generally hate second seasons as, most times, they just get worse. So, yeah. That butterfly better be symbolic, ’cause I’m gonna blow things up if it isn’t.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. She is best mom. And I love that kinky opening line. That gives me life.
    Oh yeah, nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mirrorpurple says:

    Time for me to make a Bukkake ga Inai Machi dojinshi kickstarter

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cg1700 says:

    From what I read the car thing was explained in the manga:

    Like

  7. Pingback: Winter 2016 final impressions | Wanimu

  8. Pingback: My top 3 series from 2016 and plans for 2017 | Wanimu

Leave a Reply

