Winter 2016 final impressions

Lots of people complaining that the winter 2016 seasons was shit. Well, it might have been. However, I’m pleased even with only a couple good shows per season.

Dagashi Kashi

dagashi kashi

Status: Dropped at 2/12

It left like too much of a waste of time. I couldn’t stand 20 minutes worth of children talking about sweets. Wtf, I’m not even into sweets. Besides, their eyes creeped the hell out of me. Thanks, but no thanks.

ERASED

erased4

Status: completed

I wrote a full impressions post here. Long story short, I really really enjoyed it, despite its obvious flaws. It lacked in the mystery department, but made up for it in other areas. Such as HAVING THE COOLEST SIDE CHARACTER IN THE HISTORY OF SIDE CHARACTERS.

Nijiiro Days

nijiiro days

Status: Watching/On-going

There’s not much to be said about this, except for the fact that I wouldn’t watch it if it were to have normal-length episodes. For roughly 10 minutes it does the job as a light-hearted slice of life/romance series. Will definitely keep watching as it’s kinda uplifting now and then.

Oshiete! Gyaruko-chan

galko

Status: Completed

Gyaruko? Galko? Fuck if I know. Japanese is weird. Anyhow. The short that basically screams low-budget was pretty entertaining, in the end. It tackles lots of what would normally be called ecchi subjects, I guess. Argh, I’m so mad when I’m incapable of writing decently and give decent information. It was okay, okay? And it’s only about 7 minutes long. Unless it’s the atrocity that Pupa was, nothing can go wrong in 7 minutes. Just…it was alright.

Sekkou Boys

sekkou boys

Status: Dropped at 2/12

Excuse me to excuse you. The idea of having Roman/Greek statues as an idol group does not entertain me. At all. I don’t know who thought it was going to be funny, but I beg to differ. Take your statues and shove them somewhere warm. I don’t want them or your pointless show.

She and her Cat: Everything Flows

she and het cat

Status: Completed

And how could I not? It only had 4 episodes. The series is a remake of She and her Cat, the 5 minute OVA from 1999. I expected this to look like Garden of Words or smth and it didn’t. But that’s okay. I somehow feel that it doesn’t completely capture the feeling of the original OVA, but it still is a beautiful, light story that managed to give me the feels in the end. Yeah, watch it.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu

Shouwa-Genroku-Rakugo-Shinjuu-Episode-2-English-Subbed

Status: Completed

This. This is the most underrated anime of the season. And probably the best. I spent my winter hyping over ERASED and ignored this until the 12th episode aired. Then I marathoned it because it’s…so close to perfection. I’m not even going to try and explain how I feel about this, but if you haven’t watched it yet…what are you waiting for? There’s nothing bad I can say about it. The story is engaging, the voice acting is phenomenal, the characters are so wonderfully flawed and it delivers from the first episode to the last. Definitely a must see. I absolutely loved it. Aaand, it was announced that it gets a second season. Yay.

Thank you, Winter 2016 season, for giving me ERASED and Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu. You were kind to me.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter 2016 final impressions

  1. mirrorpurple says:

    Boo you dropped Dagashi Kashi…

    Like

  2. cg1700 says:

    No Konosuba? It was pretty fun…

    Like

  3. Artemis says:

    Yup, Erased and Rakugo Shinjuu (particularly the latter) made my season as well. And that’s all I needed – I don’t have to watch a dozen or more shows every week for me to consider a season ‘good’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

