Ruki’s favourites: Slice of life

Because I get asked pretty often what my favourite series are and because I can’t really come up with a better topic even tho’ I wanna write, well…welcome to Ruki’s favourites. This week featuring slice of life anime. 

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that my all time favourite anime genre is slice of life. Might seem dull, but I find that, while most of the time it’s pretty generic, it provides the best stories. And you know I’m all about that story, babe.

Another thing to take into consideration is that I’m really tired of the whole high school cliché and I want my slice of life series to be more on the mature side.

And yet another thing – there’s little to no romance in here. Mostly none. That shit usually screws up.

No. 5 – Barakamon

barakamon

Year:  2014

Length: 12 episodes

Studio: Kinema Citrus

Seishuu Handa is a young and handsome calligrapher with a temper. After punching a famous and much older calligrapher, he is exiled on a small island in order to repent for his sins. As a city boy, Seishuu has to learn how to adapt to the new environment which means noisy children all over his place, tractors and neighbors who don’t seem to know what knocking on the front door means.  The story itself is half comedy half feelings. If you enjoyed the visual comedy scenes in Nichijou, you might like this one too. Either way, it’s a lighthearted story about a miserable artist who may or may not end up making friends.

No. 4 – Shirobako

shirobako

Year: 2014-2015

Length: 24 episodes

Studio: P.A. Works

Oh, the infamous Shirobako. The hype did not miss me with this one. The story follows five passionate girls who work in the anime industry: production assistance, voice acting, drawing, searching and researching. They got that covered. However, it’s not all wine and spice and everything nice. Tight schedules are a killer, voice acting is extremely competitive, drawing is not as easy as it seems and they all have to face the reality of a job. All in all, we get to see what working life sounds like without it being overly glossed and we get to know more about the behind the scenes in anime production.

No. 3 – Genshiken

Genshiken.full.1548308

Year: 2004 – original run

Legth: 3 seasons (12 episodes first two, 13 episodes the third one), 2 OVAs

Studio: Palm Studio, Production I.G

If you’re like me and you enjoy anime that is centered around otaku characters, you really need to watch this. And I surely recommend watching all three seasons. First of all, you don’t want to miss the character development. It starts off with them in highschool, in their nerdy otaku club and their usual activities such as sudden cosplay photo shoots, trying to survive conventions, working on their doujinshi and coping with the embarrassment of being an otaku overall. However, up to the third season, they would have finished highschool and are getting in the work field while tying to keep their hobbies alive, which brings even more stress and other hardships. The animation gets better too, which is always a good thing. It starts off looking kinda sloppy and crappy, but the evolution is clearly visible. A series you surely don’t want to miss if you’re a fan of the genre. 10/10 would watch again.

No. 2 – Lucky Star

Lucky_Star_-_Everyone

Year: 2007

Length: 24 episodes

Studio: Kyoto Animation

I don’t even know what to say about it. On one side I feel that everyone and their mama watched it. On the other side, tho’, I am aware that it may not be everyone’s cup of tea and I know it gets its fair share of hate. However, that doesn’t stop me from putting this up high on my favourites list. Lucky Star is random. About the only way I can explain it. Once again, it’s centered around a really nerdy, otaku character, Konata (which might be some of your friends’ waifu) and her friends. Again in high school, but that’s not the focus of the show. Pff. Think of it like a Watamote with a decent, believable main character. Or take it a an Azumanga Daioh more on the slice of life side and not on the comedy. That’s Lucky Star. Nothing ever happens, but it’s still so god damn entertaining to watch. I’m ready to be judged for my taste. I am not even sorry.

No. 1 – Usagi Drop

usagi drop

Year: 2011

Length: 11 episodes

Studio: Production I.G

Usagi Drop is the slice of life that gives you dem feelz. Unlike the other four shows that I’ve talked about, this leans heavily on the drama side. Daikichi’s grandfather dies, leaving aside his illegitimate 6 years old daughter, Rin. While the entire family is embarrassed at the thought of an 80-ish y/o man having such a young daughter, Daikichi decides to take her in and raise her. Now, he’s a young bachelor, not knowing a thing about raising a child or having dealt with them before. He has to face the difficulties of being a single dad, working a full time job, having to provide financially and emotionally for his new daughter. Their story will definitely hit you right in the kokoro and thank god the anime series did not follow the manga ending because you might not want to read that. Yeah, it’s what you’re thinking and no, she’s not dying. Even if you think this might not be to your liking, you should give it a try. It’s only 11 episodes long and you might discover it touched your dark places more than you expected. I deeply apologize for not being able to fully describe the awesomeness that this show is, but you have to trust me. This is good.

That aside, what are your favourite slice of life series? I’m always looking forwards to recommendations, especially when it comes to this genre. So hit me up your best. 

^__^

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Ruki’s favourites: Slice of life

  1. Artemis says:

    Usagi Drop is definitely one of my all-time favourite titles, slice-of-life or otherwise, glad to see it made your list! So is Natsume Yuujinchou, although that also leans more towards the drama side of things and has a major supernatural element to it as well. No other show aside from Usagi Drop has ever got me right in the FEELS as much as that one has though – I’ve re-watched it numerous times and it still has the power to make me cry (mostly from happiness and those “d’aaaw” moments). And then I’d also say Azumanga Daioh, which gets compared to Lucky Star a lot since the slice-of-life is combined with absurdist comedy. I definitely prefer Azumanga out of the two, but that might only be because I saw that series first.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      Because Azumanga Daioh is so chaotic, I tend to think of it as more of a comedy than a slice of life, but I get what you’re saying. It was definitely funnier than Lucky Star. But, just like in your case, I prefer Lucky Star because I watched it first. It was kinda my first slice of life love. I can’t forget that. =D

      Like

  2. mirrorpurple says:

    Time for you to watch Acchi Kocchi, Anne Happy and Azumanga Daioh.

    All the good af slice of life starts with the letter ‘A’

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I need to watch Genshiken. That’s probably the next show I’ll watch off my backlog. Not a fan of Lucky Star (thought it was pretty boring and not as funny compared to many of the other school SoLs), but I enjoyed the rest of the shows on your list. Usagi Drop used to be my favorite anime until it was recently passed by the Aria series. It’s now tied for my second favorite with Kuragehime, followed by Barakamon in fourth (yes, pretty much all my favorites are SoLs haha).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LitaKino says:

    I love all your choices of slice of life will hopefully check out all of these 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

