Getting back on track: Summer 2016 want-to-watch

It’s high time my break from animu ended, ’cause it was already getting out of hand. While I’m still trying to get up to date with the spring 2016 series (things are going pretty well, actually), I decided to take a look at the upcoming titles. And, boy, was I pleased.

91 Days

91 Days

I’m pretty sure this is going to be on everyone’s and their mama’s list. It’s set in the Prohibition era so it’s bound to be full of alcohol, mafia, guns and blood. And you know what? I’m actually quite hyped for this one. I need some seinen in my life ASAP.

Cute High Earth Defense Club LOVE! LOVE!

Cute-High-Earth-Defense-Club-Love

Can I get a HELL YEAH? If you’ve been here before, you probably know how much I enjoyed the first season of this joke. I wouldn’t even mind if it stays as pointless and stupid as the first season, ’cause I don’t expect any kind of mind blowing twist to the story. Just…break the fourth wall, guys. That’s all I need you to do. Break the fourth wall and look stupid. ❤

Handa-kun

Handa-kun-Manga-Header-001-20160201

IS THIS FOR REALSIES? My Handa is getting another show? No, but seriously. I talked about my soft spot for Handa in a previous post and, even though one of his big pluses was the fact that he was…you know, of age, I’m still looking forward to his teenage, tormented self. For those of you who don’t know what this is all about, Handa is the protagonist of Barakamon – one of the cutest slice of life shows ever – exiled on an island because he is a cheeky bastard and can’t cope with society. (He kinda punches his superior). Anyway. It’s nice. Watch it.

New Game

new game

I’m not exactly sure how much I’m gonna enjoy this, mostly because I’m expecting the game industry version of Shirobako. Well, it’s supposed to be the gaming version of Shirobako. And if it fails I’m going to be preeeeeetty disappointed. Kinda. I don’t like it when characters who are supposed to be grown up (at least sort of) look like high school kids. But we shall see, okay? We shall see.


MOST HYPED


Orange

orange

16 years old high school student receives a letter from her twenty seven y/o self telling her to keep an eye on the transfer student. Why? Not even the angels know. I’m not so sure why this sounds so appealing to me (highschoolers, bleah), but look at it. IT LOOKS SO FUCKING GOOD. It says fucking shoujo and it says fucking school life but hell, it seems so promising. Besides, it’s already hyped all over the internet and that must mean something.

ReLIFE

ReLIFE-tomes-550x

27 years old, unemployed, worthless guy is given the opportunity to go back in time and change his life. GUESS WHAT? HIGHSCHOOL AGAIN. Who the fuck would want that? Anyway, of course he accepts the offer and there he is, the dancing queen young and sweet at only seventeen. He gets his eyes on the cliché silent beautiful girl who has no friends. It sounds a bit like pedophilia, if you ask me, but then again, his body is 17. Anyhow. It really got my hype bar up so…there’s that.

D.Gray-man Hallow

79272l

By far my most hyped series this season. Probably this entire year.

D.Gray-man has been on hiatus since…2009? HOLY FUCKING SHIT, THAT’S 7 YEARS. Alright. Yes. I need Lavi and Kanda back in my life. Probably Allen too. But, most of all, I need some fresh, juicy, overly handsome Cross Marian. Fangirl level over 9000.

I’m trying to catch up with the manga right now and I can’t even tell you how badly my wallet is crying because manga is fucking expensive in Romania. But it’s so worth it, I swear.


There were three more shows I wanted to include on the list, namely First Love Monster, Cheer Boys and Sweetness and Lightning However, the excitement is not real with these ones and it’s very likely that I will just skip them. There are enough titles on this list as it already is and I’m probably just trying to make up for the lack of anime in my life over the past few months.

That being said, what series are you looking forward to this summer?

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Getting back on track: Summer 2016 want-to-watch

  1. Artemis says:

    I’ve been too busy to get seriously hyped about anything (well, except for the new Natsume Yuujinchou, which won’t be around until the fall season anyway), but if I was gonna get hyped then it’d probably be for 91 Days. But as per usual, I’ll be trying out 10 or so shows and then promptly dropping the ones that fail to captivate me after the first episode. Let nobody say I don’t watch my anime efficiently.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mangaotakuu says:

    You should be hyped for Orange! It was an amazing manga and gave me a nostalgic feeling along with the thought, “ah where has my youth gone!” (although my youth hasn’t gone anywhere, I’m a teenage girl).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mirrorpurple says:

    You finally came back to me

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Orange seems to be the big hitter for this season, but I also planned on getting back into Food Wars, Danganronpa, and possibly Taboo Tattoo. I’m not watching mafia the anime BTW

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruki says:

      Y U NOT WATCHING MAFIA THE ANIME? Is it because you’re on twitter now?
      Jk, jk. I always wanted to watch Food Wars, but, for whatever reason, I never seem able to pick it up. I’ll probably get the munchies and start imagining that can I cook. It might be lethal.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I’ve had this policy of avoiding more than 4 anime per season otherwise I get everything mixed up and I start to care less about each show (and I’m a simulcast pussy). I’ll definitely watch it once it’s done airing though, like I plan to with Death Parade some time soon. Food Wars was really fun though. Made me feel like an authentic chef.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. mirrorpurple says:

    Wtf, that mahou shounen shet is coming again? Someone save me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

