#HalloweenAnime

I’m not one to celebrate Halloween, mostly because I have enough ‘murica in my life without it already, but also because I don’t have the time, energy and interest to put into costumes.

However, I like the half cheery half spooky atmosphere around this party concept (it’s in no way a holiday in here) so, I was thinking, why not make a cute little list of halloween-ish anime just like everybody else and their mama did?

I didn’t focus on horror stuff that much, but mainly on magical, yet again spooky series that remind me of Halloween and Jack Skellington (’cause he’s the real master of fright, I tell ya)

Little Witch Academia

little-witch-academia

Not a series, but a short film. Akko Kagari attends a magical school for young witches (something like Harry Potter) and…she’s really bad at it. Despite her passion for magic and all that nice and spooky stuff, she is mostly incapable of standing still, paying attention and basically, doing something right. When her professor sends the entire class on a dungeon quest, Akko realizes she might be forced to fight the evil. There’s also some power of friendship, the arrogant kid, dragons and shit. Watch it, it’s pretty cool. If you liked The Worst Witch as a kid, you’re gonna enjoy this too. ’cause it’s basically the animated version of it.

Soul Eater

soul-eater

No other anime series (keep in mind, series) makes me think of Halloween quite like Soul Eater does. I’m pretty sure it doesn’t need much presentation but it’s about, once again, the students of a magical school ruled by Death Reaper himself. They’re not necessarily magic, but they kinda are. Leaving that aside, it’s not the plot of the show that which gives off this Halloween vibe, but the setting: the school which looks like a spooky palace, the zombie professor, the candles, the sun and the moon. One of the greatest, most unique (can I say that, most unique?) art styles in anime. And, come on, the principal is the fucking Shinigami, let’s get real. What else do you need?

Rosario + Vampire

rosario-vampire

Aaand another magic school series. I think I’m starting to see a pattern.

Witches? Tick. Vampires? Tick. Fairies? Tick. Point proven, no further argument is necessary.

I’m not even sure why this pointless, magical school life comedy/harem was so appealing to me back then. Although I don’t remember much of it, I can still recall the fantasy feeling I had when I watched this. If Nightmare before Christmas was my standard for this list, this show wouldn’t make it too high up. But it’s still there. And it’s magical.

Yamishibai

yamishibai

The short that this list deserves. Yamishibai is basically a collection of Japanese myths and urban legends, only few minutes long. The animation and art style are really damn creepy. Adding the perfect use of sound effects and a few jump scares, you get the best show to marathone on Halloween. I would definitely use this as penalty on board games. Whoever loses, gets to watch this alone in the dark room.

And this is why I don’t have friends.

Ghost Stories

ghost-stories

Remember this? Whether you want to get scared by weird Japanese ghosts because you got drunk on Bloody Mary or you just want to laugh for a bit, go watch this series. Kids killing ghosts and other evil spirits in order to lift a curse. We all need this in our lives for Halloween. Oh, and Jesus. Let’s not forget about that.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Anime, Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #HalloweenAnime

  1. Krystallina says:

    Nice to see a list that isn’t focused on the dark and creepy!

    Like

  2. Cat says:

    Oooh, nice list! I like how you made it a mix of spooky and cheerful/cute~

    Like

  3. HalloWeiner says:

    Where’s your post about the really freaky stuff happening this season? The Trump election. Really spooky stuff, and you’re missing on capitalizing on it, like the rest of the creators of online content.

    To start off : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ooeaHyoiLE

    Like

  4. Rosario + Vampire is the only thing I have watched from the spooky list. I am tempted to check out Ghost Stories though, thanks to the hilarious dub you linked to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

