Anime for beginners

I often get asked by my non-otaku friends what should they watch if they were to start watching anime. I take this question very seriously because 1. I feel important and 2. that person’s fate is on my shoulders. I either get to recommend something really good and create a new anime-lover like the god that I am or I make that person hate anime for the rest of their life.

Naturally, the first question is what genre do they prefer. From here on, here are my standard recommendations.

Action

Shingeki no Kyojin | Attack on Titan

attack_on_titan

AoT is not so popular without a reason. It might not be the best series out there, or the smartest or the best looking or…I don’t care, you name it, but it does the trick. It keeps you wanting for more and this is what a good show does. Sadly enough, the second season is not out yet and won’t be until next year. But, hey, another reason to keep watching anime in the meantime.

Seinen

Cowboy Bebop

21079_cowboy_bebop

This is a classic and everybody should watch it. Not because it’s a classic, but because it’s good. It’s got action, it’s got drama, it’s got awesome characters, a nice plotline and the best soundtrack. And space pirates. I mean, c’mon. You have to love it.

Mystery

Death Note

death-note-025

This is, by far, the best mystery series I’ve watched so far. And I totally recommend it right and left, without telling anyone how sucky it becomes after episode 12 or something. But it sure delivers. The action development is amazing, it’s got lots of suspense and awesome, relatable characters that you can easily connect to whether it is by loving or hating them. And even if it’s kind of exaggerated here and there, I have to admit that it’s a smart show.

Mecha

Code Geass

Knight_of_the_roundsJust like Attack on Titan, Code Geass has that thing that makes you want more and more of it. And you can surely get some, as it has 2 seasons and some extra OVAs. I mostly recommend this because it made me like it, even tho’ I generally hate mecha. It has an awesome storyline and nicely portrayed characters and, despite the fact that it might be a bit confusing at times, it’s sooo good.

Romance

Lovely Complex

Lovely_Complex_Wiki

Best romance show evoooor. Generally, when it comes to romance series, you can pretty much recommend anything. They just want to see feelings and rosy cheeks and first kisses. But Lovely Complex is so much more than that. It’s so cute and funny and loveable and asdfghjkl. ❤

It even made me cry as some point, if I recall correctly. So it surely does its job. I should rewatch this soon.

Comedy

Nichijou

37745_nichijou

Nichijou is the absolute comedy when it comes to anime. Because it’s the only thing that it does. It has no plot, no action course, no storyline. It’s just simple plain comedy on all levels: characters, action, voice acting, art style, dialogue. It’s all in there and I have yet to meet a human who didn’t get at last one giggle. (actually, I never met someone who got just one giggle)

Slice of life / Drama

Usagi Drop

usagi-drop-3269955

I took into consideration the art style of this one as being a little off putting for a beginner. I mean, you have to give them something visually pleasing in order to get them into it. And I’m not saying that it doesn’t look good. I think it’s awesome from every point of view. But I’ve seen what poorly animated series look like and how ugly some characters can be, a newbie wouldn’t know that. Anyway, Usagi Drop is an amazing series. I’m talking about the anime here, not the manga and its ending (which I didn’t read, thankfully, but I heard about it. :|)

It’s got the cute moments, it’s got the heartwarming moments and it’s got the fells moments. In fact, the whole series is made of feels. From the first episode to the last one. Definitely among my top 10 favourites.

So, guys, what do you usually recommend to newbies?

(Yes, I know I’ve said ‘awesome’ too many times)

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anime for beginners

  1. ThatAnimeSnob says:

    Toradora is way better than Lovely Complex and way more popular and recognizable by new anime fans.

    At least you got Death Note and Code Geass right.

    Also, people should read Usagi Drop manga after finishing the anime. “Totally worth it!” – said no one ever

    Like

Leave a Reply

