My top 3 series from 2016 and plans for 2017

Ok, 2016 was a shit year for me in terms of anime watching. I don’t think I’ve completed 10 series, but spent my year rather (re)watching older anime.

Nonetheless, out of the few new titles watched, there were some pretty good ones, at least enough for a top 3.

3. Yuri!!! on Ice

Fall 2016

yuri-on-ice-full-2046000

Who could’ve imagined that young boys skating would bring back my will to watch anime? After a pretty long burnout, I decided to start watching YOI because of all the hype around it. Guess what? Watched it in one sitting. I expected another Free!, but got so much more out of it. In case you didn’t watch it, what the hell are you waiting for? Must admit, even I started dreaming about Yuri x Victor and I’m not one to have OTPs.

In terms of touching moments, JJ’s short program in the finals was the point when I got teary. I wanted to mention this because I genuinely hated JJ and it says a lot about how well the story was written.

Award: OTP of the year

2. ERASED

Winter 2016

erased

Clearly the best mystery anime of 2016. I was pretty hyped for it and I was not disappointed. I don’t think writing too much about it makes any sense at this point, as I praised the series before on this blog and I remember that everybody was blogging about it for the entire time it aired.

Despite the ending and the plot holes, I stand by this series and I will forever defend it. The story was strong, character development on point and it got some pretty cool cliffhangers, making the mystery part work pretty well. I really hope 2017 will bring us at least one series as good as ERASED.

Award: Mom of the year. I love that woman.

1. Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu

Winter 2016

shouwa-genroku-rakugo-shinjuu-fci

Despite how shitty 2016 was, it brought me one of my favourite series ever. If I remember correctly, ir was Artemis who mentioned it in one of her posts and she wrote so beautifully about it that I had to watch it. Here, my lady, have my thanks.

A historical drama with amazing characters. That’s all I have to say about it. If you like yourself an extremely well written story, you just got one. But don’t imagine an over the top drama. No. This series is subtle, mature and delicate. It frustrates me that I can’t express into words how much of a beautiful work of art this series is, so I will leave it like this.

The best part is that it will get a new season announced in winter 2017, which is right around the corner. The hype is real.

Award: Story of the year


Now that we’re done with 2016, I have a few plans for 2017. And no, this is not a resolution post. I think.

I want to blog more.

I plan on improving this little blog here and write more. I need to organize myself so that I have enough time to do so. The 30 days anime challenge  was great because it motivated me to write on a schedule, even if I didn’t always feel like writing. I need to find something to do the trick.

The cultural exchange project will still go on.

This project is one of my attempts for writing more. For the moment, I still did not receive my challenge after Bushu watched I can’t understand what my husband is sayingbut I’m waiting for it. Hopefully, he will also start writing here outside the project as well. We’ll see.

I’m cutting out the reviews.

I never felt good about reviewing something. I don’t think I have the necessary knowledge and experience to do so. Thus, while I will not stop writing about stuff that I enjoyed or not, I will simply keep it as an impressions post and not a review. This way, I will probably feel better about myself.

Expect more gaming posts.

Even if I sometimes go out of touch with anime, I always find the time to game a little bit. And I figured I could just pretty much start writing about games too.


So yeah, that’s pretty much it. We’ll see how this goes. C’ya around.

About Ruki

Pissed off blogger
This entry was posted in Anime, Lists and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My top 3 series from 2016 and plans for 2017

  1. librarian25 says:

    For what ever reason I didn’t watch that much anime last year, and I’m hoping that will change for this year whether it’s new series or finding older ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karandi says:

    Looking forward to future posts whether anime or gaming or whatever else. Have a great 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Artemis says:

    Great choices! I think my own top 3 would include exactly the same titles, albeit in a different order. Looking forward to what 2017 has to offer, both in terms of anime and blogging. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cat says:

    YEEES, YUURI ON ICE YAAAAAS 😻😻😻😻👌👌👌👌
    Gah, really need to watch Rakugo /tries to waddle free of everything but is stuck
    Good luck with your 2017 goals, yes to more posts and gaaames! 🎉🎉🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

